Unethical Marketing

I got an email from a company “Shanghai QPNIC Web Property Solutions Limited” informing me about one of their clients “Path soft Corp” being interested in buying domains lifemojo.net.cn, lifemojo.org.cn, lifemojo.cc, lifemojo.mobi, lifemojo.asia, lifemojo.hk, lifemojo.tw, lifemojo.com.tw, lifemojo.com.hk.

I could make out this is a scam because if someone wants to buy a domain he can ! He doesn’t need permission :)

I goggled for others who might have got similar emails and a lot of them have blogged about this.

Here is What I got:

Subject: URGENT Notice Of Disputing Domain Name In China

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please transfer to the right person/department. Thank you.)

Dear CEO,

We are the department of registration service in China.we have something need to confirm with you.We formally received an application on February 24, 2009,One  company which self-styled “Path soft Corp” are applying to register (lifemojo) as internet brand name and domain names as below (lifemojo.net.cn  lifemojo.org.cn  lifemojo.cc  lifemojo.mobi  lifemojo.asia  lifemojo.hk  lifemojo.tw  lifemojo.com.tw  lifemojo.com.hk. .etc).

After our initial checking,we found the internet brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company.If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please DO NOT reply us,we will approve the application automatically.If you have no any relationship with this company,please contact us within 7 workdays. If out of the deadline,we will approve the application  submitted by “Path soft Corp” unconditionally.

Please forward the email to your decision maker,and let them contact me in time,so that we can handle this in reasonable,Look forwarding to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Jake Shen
Senior Consultant
TEL: +86 21 69929440
Fax:  +86 21 69929447
Website:www.qpnic.org.cn
Address: Room 301, 42th, nong 1519, Jinyuan 1st Road, Jiading District, Shanghai city.

Please make sure that you do not fall for such scams…

0 comments ↓

There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment